About| Exhibits |

Women the the CBC

African-American women in Congress: The Legacy

In 1969, Shirley A. Chisholm ended up being the an initial African American woman to serve in conference after being chosen to represent new York"s 12th district in the U.S. Home of Representatives. Rep. Chisholm was likewise a establishing member that the Congressional black Caucus. Her tireless pursuit of equality, civil rights and also social justice to adjust the groundwork for the women who would serve alongside her and for those who would follow in she footsteps. 4 years later, Barbara Jordan became the first African American representative of Texas and the an initial Black mrs to represent a southerly state in Congress. Rep. Jordan go on to end up being an outspoken leader for the democratic Party.

You are watching: First african american woman in senate

There have been 33 black color Congresswomen chosen to Congress due to the fact that 1969. Together a result of their difficult work and dedication end the past four decades, several of these women have actually gained enough seniority come chair committees and subcommittees, and also serve among the democratic Party and CBC leadership.

despite these gains, only about 11 percent of women elected or appointed come Congress have actually been African-American. Just one, Carol Moseley-Braun, has actually served in the Senate. Sen. Moseley-Braun was elected Senator that Illinois in 1992 and served one term as the very first Black Democrat chosen to the upper chamber. She is among only three African americans to offer in the Senate throughout the 20th century.

The complying with list provides the year that each Congresswoman was very first elected come Congress.

See more: Tips For How To Get Rid Of Dust In Home : 7 Solutions, Tips For How To Get Rid Of Dust And Keep It Away

1969: Shirley Chisholm (D-NY) 1973: Yvonne Brathwaite Burke (D-CA) 1973: Barbara Jordan (D-TX) 1973: Cardiss Collins (D-IL) 1982: Katie hall (D-IN) 1991: Barbara-Rose Collins (D-MI) 1991: Maxine Waters (D-CA) 1991: Eleanor Holmes-Norton (D-DC) 1992: Eva Clayton (D-NC) 1993: Corrine Brown (D-FL) 1993: Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX) 1993: Cynthia McKinney (D-GA) 1993: Carrie Meek (D-FL) 1993: Carol Moseley-Braun (D-IL-U.S. Senate) 1995: Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX) 1996: Juanita Millender-McDonald (D-CA) 1997: Carolyn Cheeks Kilpatrick (D-MI) 1997: Donna Christian-Christensen (D-VI) 1997: Julia Carson (D-IN) 1998: Barbara Lee (D-CA) 1999: Stephanie Tubbs Jones (D-OH) 2001: Diane Watson (D-CA) 2003: Denise Majette (D-GA) 2005: Gwen Moore (D-WI) 2005: Cynthia McKinney (D-GA) 2006: Laura Richardson (D-CA) 2007: Yvette Clarke (D-NY) 2008: Donna Edwards (D-MD) 2008: Marcia Fudge (D-OH) 2011: Karen bass (D-CA) 2011: Terri Sewell (D-AL) 2011: Frederica Wilson (D-FL)2012: Joyce Beatty(D-OH) 2013: Robin Kelly (D-IL)2014: Alma Adams (D-NC) 2015: Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ)Brenda Lawrence (D-MI) Mia Love (R-UT) Stacey Plaskett (D-VI)